House Fails to Elect Speaker in First Round of Voting as 20 Republicans Vote For Someone Other Than Jim Jordan

The House failed to elect a Speaker in the first round of voting after 20 Republicans voted for someone other than the conference nominee U.S. House Rep Jim Jordan (R-OH).

House Minority Leader Hakeem Jeffries (D-NY) received the most votes with 212 as Jordan received just 200.

In the first round of voting in January for House Speaker, U.S. House Rep Kevin McCarthy (R-CA) had 19 Republicans vote against him.

It took 15 rounds in order to finally get McCarthy across the finish line at that point as the votes against him eventually dwindled.

The list of the 20 Republicans who voted against Jordan includes:

1. Don Bacon

2. Ken Buck

3. Lori Chavez-DeRemer

4. Anthony D’Esposito

5. Mario Diaz Balart

6. Jake Ellzey

7. Tomy Garbarino

8. Carlos Gimenez

9. Tony Gonzales

Get The Free News Addicts Newsletter

We don’t spam! Read our privacy policy for more info.

10. Kay Granger

11. Mike Kelly

12. Jen Kiggans

13. Nick LaLota

14. Doug LaMalfa

15. Mike Lawler

16. John James

17. John Rutherford

18. Mike Simpson

19. Victoria Spartz

20. Steve Womack

The former Speaker, McCarthy, who received seven of the votes, had posted on X prior to the vote, “My prediction → @Jim_Jordan will be the 56th Speaker of the House.”

U.S. House Rep Steve Scalise (R-LA), who is in the Republican leadership and received seven votes as well, has also thrown his support behind Jordan.

By Liam Donovan
Notify of
1 Comment
Newest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
7 months ago

Mark the RINOs for removal!!

No matter what it takes!

Would love your thoughts, please comment.x