Democrats Unanimously Vote to Include Illegal Immigrants in Census

Senate Democrats, without exception, have rejected Senator Bill Hagerty’s (R-Tenn.) proposition to prevent illegal aliens from being included in the national census. They cautioned that such figures play a crucial role in determining the distribution of House seats and the Electoral College.

Shortly after assuming office in 2021, President Joe Biden signed an executive order mandating that the Census Bureau assess the population of every state in the United States without considering residents’ immigration status.

The proposed amendment, slated for inclusion in Sen. Hagerty’s Equal Representation Act introduced last month, mandates the Census Bureau to include a citizenship query in all forthcoming censuses.

Subsequently, individuals who are not U.S. citizens, including those with temporary visas and green cards, would be omitted from calculations for congressional district and Electoral College allocations. Census data is gathered once every decade.

The proposition was attached to the $460 billion government spending bill that cleared on Saturday.

The measure was defeated 45-51, failing to garner a single Democratic vote. Senator Hagerty issued a statement on March 8, accusing Democrats of stalling the amendment for political motives, while also pledging to continue pushing the issue.

“Democrats’ unanimous opposition to this commonsense measure confirms that they’re using illegal aliens and sanctuary cities to increase their political power,” he said.

“With this vote, Senate Democrats chose to trample on the rights of each American’s voice. I will continue to fight and press this issue in the Senate,” Sen. Hagerty added.

Senator Hagerty has previously leveled this allegation, contending that Democrats in sanctuary cities are permitting illegal immigrants into their areas with the aim of securing additional votes and increased representation in the House of Representatives and Electoral College.

A sanctuary city is a locality where authorities might restrict collaboration with the federal government’s initiatives to enforce immigration laws, deportation, or prosecution.

Presently, approximately 200 cities, counties, and states across the United States are recognized as sanctuary cities, with New Orleans, New York City, and Washington, D.C., among them.

Share your thoughts by scrolling down to leave a comment.

Get The Free News Addicts Newsletter

We don’t spam! Read our privacy policy for more info.

By Hunter Fielding
Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Would love your thoughts, please comment.x